Board of Directors

Home / WHO WE ARE / Leadership Team / Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is considered to be the dominant policy and decision making governing body of the organization, regulated by a defined Constitution and By-laws.  It has a strategic function in providing the mission, vision and goals of the agency.  The Board has a fiduciary duty to protect the agency’s assets and investments by managing the yearly audit process.  The Board’s prime responsibility is to the general membership who at the Annual General Meeting, elects the Board’s twelve members comprising four executive officers, ie. Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, and eight directors.The Board is also responsible for the selection and appointment of the Chief Executive Officer of the organization, who reviews policies and procedures of the agency and advises the Board of any changes that may be required.Our Board members represent a wide-range of diverse cultural and ethnic backgrounds. Bringing a rich blend of experience to this governance body, their expertise ranges from professionals in the fields of finance, law, medicine, marketing and human resources.

Our Board of Directors:

  • Karen Kowal – Chair
  • Erica Teklits – Vice Chair
  • Ken Chong – Treasurer
  • Margaret Smuk – Secretary
  • Dr. Evelyn Adams
  • Donna Cansfield
  • Darlene Dubbin
  • Gloria Ellis
  • Karen Lynn
  • Sheila MacIsaac
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.